ASA Leadership Awards Program

2013 ASA Leadership Award honorees receive their awards at the opening general session of the Aging in America Conference.

Each year at the Aging in America Conference, ASA recognizes a number of individuals and organizations for their contributions to ASA, to the field of aging, and to older adults. Previous winners have included Harry R. Moody, PhD, Erlene Rosowsky, PsyD, Easter Seals, Gay & Lesbian Elder Housing's Comprehensive Housing Care Project, and many more.

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 ASA Leadership, Constituent Group and MindAlert Awards programs. 

ASA Leadership Awards 

ASA Award – Ken Dychtwald, Ph.D., Emeryville, CA
Gloria Cavanaugh Award for Excellence in Training and Education – The Oasis Institute, St. Louis, MO
Graduate Student Research Award – Jessica Taha, Ph.D., Miami, FL

These award winners were recognized at the following events:

  • Tuesday, March 12, 4:00 PM, Opening General Session
  • Tuesday, March 12, 7:00 PM, VIP Leadership Reception, by invitation only

ASA Constituent Group Awards 

MHAN: Mental Health and Aging - Patrick Arbore, San Francisco, CA

  • Wednesday, March 13, 9:30 AM, following the MHAN workshop Assessing Client Change in Diverse Settings

NOMA: Award for Excellence in Multicultural Aging - Hawai’i Healthy Aging Partnership, Hawaii

FORSA: Forum on Religion and Spirituality in Aging – Fr. James P. Oberle, Ph.D., Irving, TX

ASA - MetLife MindAlert Awards

MindAlert Award Early Stage Programs – New England Cognitive Center’s Mind Aerobics Cognitive Suite of Programs, Hartford, CT

MindAlert Award Lifelong Learning Programs – Spoon River College Retirees Leading Initiative, Canton, IL

MindAlert Award Programs for General Population – The BrainWorks Grandbuddies Program, South Bend, IN