Legal & Ethical Issues

posted Thu, 2020-06-11 19:07
The Spring 2020 issue of ASA’s Generations, “Taking Action Against Elder Mistreatment,” features “Reframing Elder Abuse,” by Laura Mosqueda, Alyssa Neumann and Eden Ruiz-Lopez.
posted Tue, 2020-05-12 20:19
The Spring 2020 issue of Generations, “Taking Action Against Elder Mistreatment,” features the article, “Connecting Community-Based Resources and Health Systems to Keep Older Adults Safe,” by Kristin Lees Haggerty, Alice Bonner, and Debi Lang.
posted Tue, 2020-05-05 16:38
An estimated 1 in 10 older adults in America and across the globe are affected by elder mistreatment.
posted Fri, 2020-05-01 14:59
A good old age—one lived in well-being and dignity—should be possible for everyone. Not just for some.
posted Sat, 2020-04-25 21:11
Amid the myriad tragedies brought on by COVID-19 is one most troubling to us all: The heartbreaking spread of the virus in our country’s nursing homes and other long-term-care settings.
posted Tue, 2020-04-21 16:22
A word to elder justice advocates: getting elder abuse programs funded requires patience, skill—and a long view.
posted Tue, 2020-03-10 16:02
The increasing corporatization of skilled nursing facilities is a root cause of the hidden na­tional scandal of elder abuse.
posted Sat, 2020-02-08 17:52
The Winter 2019−20  issue of Generations outlines the high-risk situations in which access to justice is unavailable, denied, questioned or otherwise thwarted—situations that professionals in the field of aging must be aware of in order to help.
posted Wed, 2020-02-05 14:04
A comparison of policy and procedure around supported decision-making for people with intellectual disabilities, and for people with age-related cognitive decline.
posted Mon, 2020-02-03 14:04
Knowing rights under the law is critical to ensure proper guardianship—or avoid it altogether.