Healthcare & Aging

posted Fri, 2020-03-27 19:05
The Kiosk for Living Well program, developed and operated by Greater Lynn Senior Services (GLSS), is a mobile health education and engagement program that uses fun activities and a “one stop shop” approach to attract and sustain consumer interest in taking better care of their health and wellbeing.
posted Tue, 2020-03-10 16:02
The increasing corporatization of skilled nursing facilities is a root cause of the hidden na­tional scandal of elder abuse.
posted Tue, 2020-01-07 14:04
SMAA’s most notable lesson learned involves the need to prioritize which work is most impor­tant.
posted Mon, 2019-11-18 14:11
Nursing home suicides, what LGBTQ elders and immigrants share, the lives and legacies of America’s vets, helping hoarders and more…
posted Tue, 2019-10-29 15:19
The Age-Friendly framework, boiled down to four critical elements to great care, is now referred to as the 4Ms: what Matters to older adults; Medication, Mentation and Mobility.
posted Tue, 2019-09-24 13:14
Recent studies show that as many as half of Americans will live in a nursing home at some point in their lives,
posted Mon, 2019-07-15 14:39
The three major types of elder abuse are financial abuse, physical abuse, and emotional abuse.
posted Tue, 2019-06-25 16:58
Disasters—are we prepared?, longevity in America; conectores enrich Colorado elders’ lives; exploring retirement and a “good” old age, and more…
posted Fri, 2019-06-07 20:19
While many patients ben­efit from taking multiple medications, polypharmacy also increases a person’s risk of suffering se­rious, sometimes life-threatening side effects.
posted Tue, 2019-05-07 14:28
Through new care-delivery models, the affordable housing setting can address both the health and LTSS needs of low-income older adults.